15 Comments

Started rereading Station Eleven bc of the new HBO show, and the Muppet Christmas Carol bc it’s the GOAT.

Expand full comment

Going to continue my campaign to convince everyone that watching In Bruges is/should be a family tradition. Might try to see Licorice Pizza tomorrow.

Expand full comment

I've never seen Meet Me in St. Louis so I'm going to watch that tomorrow. (I was going to to it today but I ended up watching Emily in Paris instead... 😬)

Expand full comment

I received the complete Aardman film collection (or very close to it) from my wife for Christmas, so I'm set.

Expand full comment

I got McAlester "Field Guide to North American Houses" for Christmas, so my wife and I will probably spend a lot of time flipping through it and looking at the pictures.

Expand full comment

Trying and failing to read Harlem Shuffle. Juggling Halt and Catch Fire, Arcane, Deadwood and Seinfeld. Saw Don't look up as well.

Expand full comment

Merry Christmas! Bought my wife Lunch!: Flavorful, Colorful, Powerful Lunch Bowls to Reclaim Your Midday Meal based on your recommendation

Expand full comment

Driving all day today to visit family, but I’ve already been tapped to make dessert this week—peach pie, which I’m planning to also make a crust for (cold water only, vodka dries it out too much for me IMO). Should be pretty simple but I usually throw a dash of ginger in there to add depth.

Also hoping to catch up with a few movies before the year’s out: Titane, The Humans, I’m Your Man, Annette, The Harder They Fall, and The Last Duel.

Expand full comment

Finishing up Magda Szabó’s THE DOOR. It’s excellent!

Expand full comment

Hi Alissa. First time, long time. I’m finishing up Marin Fader’s Giannis Antetokounmpo biography and have Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle in the queue. I’m re-watching The Righteous Gemstones S1 to prep for a S2 recapping gig for Vulture. Then I have a ton of movies to see before we do our Best Of lists on The Reveal newsletter: Don’t Look Up, Parallel Mothers, A Hero, Bad Luck Banging, The Disciple, Petite Maman, All Light Everywhere. Busy, busy.

Expand full comment